Krontalk

Chronos => Chronos User Discussion => Topic started by: Magic on March 11, 2018, 03:26:30 PM

Title: Type of RAM
Post by: Magic on March 11, 2018, 03:26:30 PM
What type of RAM is used inside the camera?
Title: Re: Type of RAM
Post by: CR0M3 on March 11, 2018, 11:18:15 PM
SODIMM DDR3 1600 8GB in my Case c:
Title: Re: Type of RAM
Post by: Magic on March 11, 2018, 11:43:55 PM
Thanks!
Title: Re: Type of RAM
Post by: Ormia on March 14, 2018, 12:32:28 PM
Is the RAM user expandable? Does opening up the camera void the warranty?
Title: Re: Type of RAM
Post by: Nikon1 on March 14, 2018, 03:04:54 PM
Is the RAM user expandable? Does opening up the camera void the warranty?
Should be User Upgradable from what i have heard in other threads here in the Forum (I dont have a Chronos yet).
Should also be quite easy.
But i realy dont konw about the Warranty.
Someone else here should know.
Title: Re: Type of RAM
Post by: John DeLonghi on March 15, 2018, 11:42:37 AM
This is what David has said before:

"while opening the camera doesn't void the warranty, damage due to improper user repairs isn't covered."

So, upgrading the RAM won't void anything but you need to be sure you are using the correct module(s) and you don't damage anything.
Title: Re: Type of RAM
Post by: NiNeff on March 16, 2018, 05:55:24 AM
Is the RAM user expandable? Does opening up the camera void the warranty?
Should be User Upgradable from what i have heard in other threads here in the Forum (I dont have a Chronos yet).
Should also be quite easy.
But i realy dont konw about the Warranty.
Someone else here should know.
While it certainly wasn't hard, easy is not the correct word for changing the RAM  ;)
has someone already done a teardown on YouTube or somewhere? There you should be able to see how hard it is. If no one has done a video like this and if there's enough demand I'd be willing to do one myself.
Title: Re: Type of RAM
Post by: Nikon1 on March 16, 2018, 06:57:22 AM
Is the RAM user expandable? Does opening up the camera void the warranty?
Should be User Upgradable from what i have heard in other threads here in the Forum (I dont have a Chronos yet).
Should also be quite easy.
But i realy dont konw about the Warranty.
Someone else here should know.
While it certainly wasn't hard, easy is not the correct word for changing the RAM  ;)
has someone already done a teardown on YouTube or somewhere? There you should be able to see how hard it is. If no one has done a video like this and if there's enough demand I'd be willing to do one myself.
I cant realy say how difficult it would be, cause i dont had one in my hands yet, but i would still consider ist as fairly easy from what i have seen.
At least for my standards. But i have done a lot more Crazy Stuff to Electronics and Cameras bevore.
So it could be actually possible, that it would not be as easy for someone new to Electroics or Cameras.
.
I am not realy sure, if there is a complete Teardown anywhere as a video, but i have seen some Pictures from the internals, not sure anymore from where.
Could be realy helpfull for some People to have a proper Teardown- / RAM-Upgrade-Video.
Title: Re: Type of RAM
Post by: John DeLonghi on March 16, 2018, 07:15:12 AM
You take the 4 bolts out from the back, carefully disconnect the 3 ribbon cables so you can separate the display from the body.

Then take 4 screws out securing the main PCB from the body.

Carefully disconnect the 2 (i think) ribbon cables linking it to the main sensor PCB and then you'll have full access to the memory module connectors on the other side of the main PCB.

It's not difficult as long as you're careful with the ribbon cables and their connectors. If you are unsure how the ribbon cable connectors work, ask here first or do some googling.
Title: Re: Type of RAM
Post by: BiduleOhm on March 16, 2018, 12:03:49 PM
The creator of the camera (David) has made a complete teardown. If I recall correctly it's on his main youtube channel (tesla500).
Title: Re: Type of RAM
Post by: Nikon1 on March 16, 2018, 01:23:41 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y_TFiA05tcc
There is the Video with the Teardown.
I knew i saw someting like this bevore somewhere, wasnt just sure anymore if it was Video or someting like a blog.
It was exactly that video.
While Searching for this Video i just realized, that i watched so much of those videos on davids Chanel (tesla500) long time ago.
I just realized, that this was Davids chanel all the time, WOW!
Just didnt know that at this time and havent watched that canel since then.
Realy liked all those High-Speed-Camera-Teardowns and analysis back then.
Thanks for the tip, great content on that chanel.
Title: Re: Type of RAM
Post by: Ian on March 17, 2018, 05:09:57 AM
I upgraded mine from 8gb to 32gb within a few days of delivery. Wow, it makes it so much easier to use having a bigger buffer. Don't forget to go to the appropriate firmware that supports your configuration. I found that the hard way when it didn't report any ram change.
As someone said above the trickiest part is the ribbon connectors. Again, I learned this the hard way and it took me 15 mins to find the offending tiny bit of plastic on the floor. This type of connector in my past has slid out parallel with the pcb, these ones you lift with a finger nail. Easy once you get one right it is easy.
The ram I used came from amazon.de as it was not available on the uk amazon. It was linked from another post on this forum where the user had proven it worked. Turns out that the ram I removed was made by the same manufacturer, that helped my confidence level enormously.
It's great now, slo mo of the dog chasing a ball for 10 seconds or so, brilliant.
https://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B01LFQH95Q/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 (https://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B01LFQH95Q/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1)
This is the link to the ram I bought, happy upgrading
Title: Re: Type of RAM
Post by: John DeLonghi on March 17, 2018, 06:29:02 AM
For anyone in the UK looking for a RAM upgrade, MrMemory has the correct modules. I've upgraded both of my cameras with them and no problems at all.

https://www.mrmemory.co.uk/all-products/16gb-ddr3-pc3-12800-1600mhz-204-pin-sodimm
Title: Re: Type of RAM
Post by: NiNeff on March 20, 2018, 11:42:24 AM
https://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B01LFQH95Q/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 (https://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B01LFQH95Q/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1)
This is the link to the ram I bought, happy upgrading
Same with me, works great. Having 32GB is definitively a large improvement.
Title: Re: Type of RAM
Post by: unelune on March 20, 2018, 05:32:17 PM
I have 2 questions in regards to the RAM upgrade:

1- Can someone please confirm that upgrading to 32Gig means buying 2 x 16Gig Ram ?

2- Also @Ian, what do you exactly mean by: "Don't forget to go to the appropriate firmware that supports your configuration." Could you please detail the steps in order to do this?

regards,
Title: Re: Type of RAM
Post by: CR0M3 on March 20, 2018, 11:19:15 PM
Yes u have 2 Slots in there so 16GB for each one :)
Title: Re: Type of RAM
Post by: unelune on March 21, 2018, 05:03:35 AM
Thanks for confirming that 2 slots are available.

And by the way, do you perhaps know what Ian (in this thread) meant when he said in regards to upgrading to 32Gig:  "Don't forget to go to the appropriate firmware that supports your configuration." ?

Is there a special firmware to download when you install those 32Gig RAM or is it only an option you have to choose in the standard firmware?

regards,
Title: Re: Type of RAM
Post by: Nikon1 on March 21, 2018, 11:07:24 AM
Thanks for confirming that 2 slots are available.

And by the way, do you perhaps know what Ian (in this thread) meant when he said in regards to upgrading to 32Gig:  "Don't forget to go to the appropriate firmware that supports your configuration." ?

Is there a special firmware to download when you install those 32Gig RAM or is it only an option you have to choose in the standard firmware?

regards,
I would guess, that only refers to the newest Firmware, not any special Firmware.
I dont know exactly which one, but in the thread about Firmware you will find it.
There it said about added Features for one of the Versions: Added Support for Memory in all Configurations (or someting like That, look it up if you want to know exactly).
That means if you use any Firmware Newer than that one, you should be fine and it should be supported.
So, just use the Newest one then maybe.
Title: Re: Type of RAM
Post by: CR0M3 on March 21, 2018, 01:05:59 PM
V0.2.5 Beta Changelog (from V0.2: Added support for all memory permutations (8/16GB sticks) across both DDR3 slots. Max memory is now 32GB
c:
Title: Re: Type of RAM
Post by: unelune on March 21, 2018, 04:15:40 PM
Thanks for the information, I'll look it up.
Title: Re: Type of RAM
Post by: Nikon1 on March 21, 2018, 09:30:26 PM
I have 2 questions in regards to the RAM upgrade:

1- Can someone please confirm that upgrading to 32Gig means buying 2 x 16Gig Ram ?
...
Also, if you get your Chronos whith 16 GB already built in, you would only have to buy 1 Stick of 16 GB Ram for Maximum Configuration (32 GB).
If you have the 8 GB Modell, then you will get 24 GB if you only add one, or you will have to buy 2x 16 GB for 32 GB total, if you realy need it.
Title: Re: Type of RAM
Post by: jasonfish on March 22, 2018, 10:15:13 AM

Also, if you get your Chronos whith 16 GB already built in, you would only have to buy 1 Stick of 16 GB Ram for Maximum Configuration (32 GB).

Are you sure about that? I'd expect the 16GB models to have two 8GB sticks installed.
Title: Re: Type of RAM
Post by: Nikon1 on March 22, 2018, 01:29:46 PM

Also, if you get your Chronos whith 16 GB already built in, you would only have to buy 1 Stick of 16 GB Ram for Maximum Configuration (32 GB).

Are you sure about that? I'd expect the 16GB models to have two 8GB sticks installed.
ok, never thought about that, but it would be possible that there is 2x 8GB.
After you said that, i am not sure anymore.
Title: Re: Type of RAM
Post by: Nikon1 on March 22, 2018, 05:07:09 PM
Is there someone with the 16 GB Modell, who could verify if the Memory Configuration is 1x 16 GB or 2x 8GB RAM?
Title: Re: Type of RAM
Post by: John DeLonghi on March 22, 2018, 05:54:33 PM
1 x 16, so get another 16 to upgrade to 32
Title: Re: Type of RAM
Post by: Nikon1 on March 22, 2018, 06:02:00 PM
Thanks