Author Topic: Access OS card with Windows PC?  (Read 114 times)

gyppor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Access OS card with Windows PC?
« on: December 23, 2017, 02:29:20 PM »
Hello,

Please forgive what is probably a really dumb question -

I want to edit the drop-down list of resolutions/frame rates on the main record settings screen. I don't have a linux machine available to access the contents of the OS microSD card on the camera, so I'm wondering if any 3rd party applications are available for PC to access and edit this type of file. I don't know what the extension is. I have zero experience with linux.

Thanks,
G


tretee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Access OS card with Windows PC?
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2017, 03:06:28 PM »
It's just a normal SD card that you can put in to any windows PC.
The file is just a simple text file that you can edit with any text editor.
If you want an amazing Windows text editor that is free, download this.
https://notepad-plus-plus.org/download/v7.5.3.html

gyppor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: Access OS card with Windows PC?
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2017, 07:57:19 PM »
Tetree - I do see some files but no folders. David told me to look in /opt/camera/resolutions to find the text file in question, however I see no folders. Hidden files and folders are turned on. All I see on the micro SD card is:
boot.cmd
boot.scr
MLO
README.boot.scr
splash.bmp
u-boot.bin
uImage
 
I've installed notepad++ as you recommended but all the files I listed above appear as lines of gibberish. It seems I'm not seeing all there is to see on the card.

Any other ideas?

G


tesla500

  • Krontech
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
    • krontech.ca
Re: Access OS card with Windows PC?
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2017, 10:25:51 PM »
There are two partitions, a FAT32 for boot and an EXT3 for the Linux OS. You need to access the card from a Linux system to see the second.

Edit: See post below, there are solutions for accessing the Linux partition from Windows.
« Last Edit: December 24, 2017, 12:42:47 AM by tesla500 »

gyppor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: Access OS card with Windows PC?
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2017, 10:56:55 PM »
There are two partitions, a FAT32 for boot and an EXT3 for the Linux OS. You need to access the card from a Linux system to see the second.

Thanks David, EXT3 was the keyword I needed! After a quick search I found a program called Paragon ExtFS for Windows which allowed me to access the partition and open the resolution file in Windows 7. Thanks again!

What other company gives customers this level of service? None that I can think of.

Edit: thanks Tretee for the notepad++ link as well, it opens the file with each resolution on its own line rather than notepad, which shows it as a string of numbers.

G
« Last Edit: December 23, 2017, 11:00:00 PM by gyppor »

tesla500

  • Krontech
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
    • krontech.ca
Re: Access OS card with Windows PC?
« Reply #5 on: December 24, 2017, 12:40:51 AM »
Thanks David, EXT3 was the keyword I needed! After a quick search I found a program called Paragon ExtFS for Windows which allowed me to access the partition and open the resolution file in Windows 7. Thanks again!

Perfect! Do note that there's a bug where the cam app will crash if you put a horizontal resolution below 640 pixels in the resolutions file, it's probably a simple bug but we havn't gotten around to squashing it yet. 640 and up works fine. Also, havn't tested what it will do if you put in an invalid resolution.

What other company gives customers this level of service? None that I can think of.

Thanks! I strive to give the service I would like to receive, and rarely do, from other companies.

gyppor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: Access OS card with Windows PC?
« Reply #6 on: December 24, 2017, 12:55:42 AM »
I can provide some help here David (returning the favor :-)

I input 620x320 by mistake originally, which is invalid. (Normally selecting 620 pixels in-camera rounds off to 624). It did appear in the drop-down menu but I couldn't select it. the frame rate displayed next to it was something ludicrously high like "56...34264" or something to that effect.

I have 512x288, 448x240, 336x192 and 336x96 in my drop-down menu and they all work with software v0.3! My unit is one of the early bird ones. Maybe the bug only appears in some cameras?

I should also mention I really like the improved save speed inV0.3. It's going to really improve battery life for me - much less time spent saving. The next improvement I'm looking forward to is going above 38Kfps. I don't see much interest for it but hopefully there is enough to implement it!

G

foobar

  • Krontech
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Access OS card with Windows PC?
« Reply #7 on: December 24, 2017, 12:38:44 PM »
The bug in the drop down lists were fixed just in time for the v0.3 beta release, but I don't think they got into the changelog, the git sha of the fix for that was 75acc0caa00dd4d94f669b772ceb44500c105c74. However, this means we have another bug that the resolutions file wasn't updated in the beta release.