Chronos > Software Dev

Updating the UI

(1/4) > >>

DDR:
Hello, all. David hired me a few days back to improve our UI. (This includes the lack of a mobile app.) I've been getting my bearings with the software, and I've mocked up few screens I'd like to get some feedback on. Nothing's final yet; I'm still learning my way around the project and figuring out how to change things. :)

Main Screen:

* I've made all the font sizes on the main menu the same. I think it looks a lot better, but it's also harder to read. I'm going to try to move some things around later to make the buttons a lot larger and more legible.
* I've added "..." to buttons that open up a menu. Is this something you yourself would reasonably expect "..." to mean?
* I reordered the buttons on the main screen. All the settings are together at the bottom now!
* Changed "Play" to "Review and Save". (It could as easily be "Play and Save". I didn't think you'd intuitively look under "Play" to save your work. 🤔
* Aligned all the things.

Play Screen:

* Mostly just changed around the arrows here. Up/down now move the slider up and down. Plus and minus adjust the speed of the up and down. Much more sensible than having up and down adjust the speed of left and right. :D
* Not that it's quite in yet, but "mark in" and "mark out" will become more like "mark a" and "mark b". Regardless of which is first, when you save, it'll just take the segment between the two. We'd like to get actual marks drawing on the slider as well.

Anyway, that's it for now! Thanks for reading!

patrickrebstock:
i still think that right and left arrows for going though playback footage is better than up and down more logical for a video timeline