Author Topic: Chronos 1.4 screen upgrade?  (Read 248 times)

gyppor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
Chronos 1.4 screen upgrade?
« on: April 09, 2019, 09:31:08 PM »
Seeing the improved brighter screen on the 2.1, would the new LCD be compatible with the 1.4? I'd love a brighter screen on mine, if it were possible to upgrade.

Thanks!
G

foobar

  • Krontech
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos 1.4 screen upgrade?
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2019, 01:00:50 PM »
The screen and rear bezel that will be used on the Chronos2.1 can be swapped onto a Chronos1.4 as a drop-in replacement. I don't have any idea of what the pricing for such an upgrade would be.

JamesB

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos 1.4 screen upgrade?
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2019, 02:12:55 PM »
This should be a popular upgrade, thanks!

patrickrebstock

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • playing camera
    • View Profile
    • patrickrebstock.com
Re: Chronos 1.4 screen upgrade?
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2019, 05:28:16 PM »
yeah, agree this would be a popular upgrade.
do we know yet how the new screen will affect the battery life?

foobar

  • Krontech
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos 1.4 screen upgrade?
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2019, 05:50:36 PM »
Our initial tests have shown that the backlight on the new LCD does consume a bit more power than the older unit, but I would expect the difference in runtime to be very small. It's the FPGA and CPU that consumes the lion's share of the power budget. If I had to take a guess, it might reduce your battery life by about 5 minutes or so from a full charge.

Fyodor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos 1.4 screen upgrade?
« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2019, 01:21:34 AM »
Depending on the costs, this would still be a great upgrade instead of an external screen with its own battery.

patrickrebstock

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • playing camera
    • View Profile
    • patrickrebstock.com
Re: Chronos 1.4 screen upgrade?
« Reply #6 on: April 17, 2019, 01:44:56 PM »
Our initial tests have shown that the backlight on the new LCD does consume a bit more power than the older unit, but I would expect the difference in runtime to be very small. It's the FPGA and CPU that consumes the lion's share of the power budget. If I had to take a guess, it might reduce your battery life by about 5 minutes or so from a full charge.
sounds great!

jasonfish

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos 1.4 screen upgrade?
« Reply #7 on: April 17, 2019, 06:06:02 PM »
Put me down for one. :)

rnone

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos 1.4 screen upgrade?
« Reply #8 on: April 24, 2019, 08:06:56 AM »
Also considering a better res for the display (something along at least 1280x720) would be great.