Author Topic: What's the biggest upgrade of Chronos 2.1?  (Read 408 times)

edmond

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
What's the biggest upgrade of Chronos 2.1?
« on: December 20, 2019, 10:05:53 PM »
From the datasheet I see that fps of 2.1 don't go up significantly compared to 1.4, but the price is almost doubled. So I was wondering what causes the price to go up so much.

gyppor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: What's the biggest upgrade of Chronos 2.1?
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2019, 11:16:42 PM »
From what I understand the sensor is quite a bit larger and more expensive. The 1.4 sensor has 88 pins while the 2.1 has 203 pin output, so the circuit board would be different, more complex. Larger pixels in addition to higher pixel count which should result in better low light performance.
I suspect the pricing also factors in all the additional R&D put into the 1.4 cameras, assuming the same will be needed on the 2.1. My 3 year old camera is still getting updates and the feature set continues to expand; I can see that $$$ needing to come from somewhere, and perhaps kron tech is pricing this into the 2.1 cameras.

The operating system is also being redesigned - I remember reading about a different programming language needing to be used in the new one so that is probably costing more $$$ as well. Just guessing on the software stuff, though. 

G

CR0M3

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: What's the biggest upgrade of Chronos 2.1?
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2019, 09:32:23 AM »
In terms of pricing the only thing i don't get are the +1000$ for 32GB on both cams. Got my RAM for less than 400$

Nikon1

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 339
    • View Profile
Re: What's the biggest upgrade of Chronos 2.1?
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2019, 10:10:32 AM »
From the datasheet I see that fps of 2.1 don't go up significantly compared to 1.4, but the price is almost doubled. So I was wondering what causes the price to go up so much.
Also, it is twice the Resolution. The 1.4 does HD, the 2.1 can do Full HD, that is a lot more Pixels!
Higher Resolution Sensors (which are even bigger then the 1.4-Chips in this case) are expensive.
And From what i have seen from The Demo Reels and Footage, the 2.1 Has quite a bit better Dynamic Range and Image Quality in General.
Either the Sensor is just better, or they put a Lot of work in their in-Camera Color Science! Big Cinema-Camera-Companys such as Arri put huge Amount of work in their Color science and In-Camera Signal Processing for Best Results, and it shows a Lot in the Footage which can be produced bei them. (you also pay accordingly for that better image And Color)
So i Guess at least some Amount of Work went into color and Image Quality with the New Chronos, which costs a Lot of time And Work and Therefore Money.
.
With the Ram i guess, there are People that dont want to deal with Opening The Camera and mounting new RAM. They just want to buy a Final Product with more RAM... and Have the money. I dont blame Krontech, i would charge the same for that, i would do the same. I mean at Least they Let you upgrade your RAM on your Own and are Even stating that it is actually "user Upgradeable" in the Manual and on the Website. Any other Company i Know of would have Propably used some Kind of Special RAM, which is custom made for them and Could only be bought from Their Company or Hard Soldering it onto the Mainboard/ Some Kind of Software that Prevents you from Putting normal RAM (basicaly what Apple does with most of their Computer stuff....). They even use Standard RAM! i dont know much more to ask. If Someone does not do the Research, i guess just let them Pay.
« Last Edit: December 21, 2019, 10:12:57 AM by Nikon1 »