Author Topic: SSD Cage for Chronos 1.4/2.1-HD - 3D-printable  (Read 24712 times)

Nikon1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 954
    • View Profile
Re: SSD Cage for Chronos 1.4/2.1-HD - 3D-printable
« Reply #15 on: December 10, 2020, 05:57:43 AM »
The question remains whether a M2 (not NVME) would result in better speeds...
as long as the SSD and M.2 SSD are both connected to the Sata-Port on the Camera i would say no or not much better speed, as it seems like the bottleneck for the Data would mostly to be the Interface itself, not the Drives (unless you have a very, very cheap (like Very sketchy Online Seller from China levels of Cheap) or generally pretty slow SSD). but only testing would tell, if that is actually the Case. If the SSD is somewhat recent and reasonable Quality, my guess would be no.

NiNeff

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 169
    • View Profile
Re: SSD Cage for Chronos 1.4/2.1-HD - 3D-printable
« Reply #16 on: December 10, 2020, 09:22:02 AM »
I also think you are limited by the USB ports data capability. As far as I'm aware, the Chronos uses a USB 2.0 port combined with an eSATA Port. If at all possible, use the eSATA connection which is much faster than the USB one.q

Nikon1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 954
    • View Profile
Re: SSD Cage for Chronos 1.4/2.1-HD - 3D-printable
« Reply #17 on: January 13, 2021, 10:56:01 AM »
Well, another batch of tests here.

I bought a NVME SSD, so the cheap adapter linked above would not work. Opted to sell this SSD and buy a new one...

Opted for a regular sized 2.5" SSD.

Got much better speeds with this new setup, using simpler (cheaper) parts, tested only Raw 16 bit export and got 13 fps, not the 18 fps stated above, but I can test EXT3 file system and other types of exports to check speeds... Anyway, happy with the results for now.

The question remains whether a M2 (not NVME) would result in better speeds...
.
 
DNG saves at about 12FPS on the 2.1-HD and about 18FPS on the 1.4, at full resolution.

 .
 Well, i just read that again, and tesla500 states 12fps for the 2.1 at full res. The 18fps you are thinking about where actually for the 1.4 Save-Speeds.
 So, with 13fps you are allready better than what he said.
 .
 I finally got myself an m.2 with an Adapter (also first got an NVME one, which wont work with the Cheap Adapters, needs to be an NGFF M.2 ...) and i am getting around 10fps Average for DNG; a bit over 10fps (like 10,5 average) for Raw16; about 13fps Average for Raw12; and 25fps Average for H.264 (full Resolution Saves on the 2.1)

muringuets

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: SSD Cage for Chronos 1.4/2.1-HD - 3D-printable
« Reply #18 on: January 15, 2021, 05:14:57 AM »

 .
 Well, i just read that again, and tesla500 states 12fps for the 2.1 at full res. The 18fps you are thinking about where actually for the 1.4 Save-Speeds.
 So, with 13fps you are allready better than what he said.
 .
 I finally got myself an m.2 with an Adapter (also first got an NVME one, which wont work with the Cheap Adapters, needs to be an NGFF M.2 ...) and i am getting around 10fps Average for DNG; a bit over 10fps (like 10,5 average) for Raw16; about 13fps Average for Raw12; and 25fps Average for H.264 (full Resolution Saves on the 2.1)


Sorry, I have a 1.4 camera... After exporting longer files I managed to get 18 fps, so everything seems to be working after all...

abellay

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: SSD Cage for Chronos 1.4/2.1-HD - 3D-printable
« Reply #19 on: March 04, 2021, 02:59:29 PM »
The export process can take a long time for a variety of reasons. Generally speaking, long projects will take a long time to export.

SergeyKashin

  • Guest
Re: SSD Cage for Chronos 1.4/2.1-HD - 3D-printable
« Reply #20 on: May 16, 2021, 09:20:48 AM »
My cage ssd

Endothermic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: SSD Cage for Chronos 1.4/2.1-HD - 3D-printable
« Reply #21 on: September 28, 2021, 10:57:30 AM »
I printed the cage, got an ssd and the correct cable. When I go into the settings, the camera does not recognize the ssd. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong here. Any suggestions? Brand new user....

I WAS able to get some footage of a match lighting, but couldn't save it!

Thanks.

Nikon1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 954
    • View Profile
Re: SSD Cage for Chronos 1.4/2.1-HD - 3D-printable
« Reply #22 on: September 28, 2021, 11:09:04 AM »
Are you using an eSATAp cable?
 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ESATAp

mostafa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Krontech Support
    • View Profile
Re: SSD Cage for Chronos 1.4/2.1-HD - 3D-printable
« Reply #23 on: September 28, 2021, 11:09:31 AM »
Can you check if the SSD device is detected in the USB/SATA storage window on the Util > Storage page? If yes, press the Format Disk button to format the SSD drive to FAT32 file system. If you require any further assistance, please contact support@krontech.ca

Endothermic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: SSD Cage for Chronos 1.4/2.1-HD - 3D-printable
« Reply #24 on: September 28, 2021, 12:27:30 PM »
Thanks Mostafa. Formatted it, I'll capture some new footage tomorrow and test saving.

systemsfail

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • My Art Website
Re: SSD Cage for Chronos 1.4/2.1-HD - 3D-printable
« Reply #25 on: January 05, 2022, 01:10:50 PM »
Hi There! I have recently acquired a Chronos 2.1 and LOVE my camera! This is my first post on this forum. However, I was very inspired by the 3D printable SSD Cage. I have taken it a step further and buried an M.2 SSD into a handgrip for my Chronos. I have made a brief video to showcase it and (hopefully) attached an image to my post. Let me know what you think:

https://youtu.be/okWUfRP2YLg

I have provided a BOM in the description of the video in case you would like to make your own. I am also prepared to build up a few for anyone who might want one that is plug-and-play.


Nikon1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 954
    • View Profile
Re: SSD Cage for Chronos 1.4/2.1-HD - 3D-printable
« Reply #26 on: January 05, 2022, 01:16:19 PM »
Hi, been trying to design and build something very similar some time ago, but had too much other projects going on to actually get any work done on this.
 https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/48-pentax-medium-format/412087-pentax-67-custom-right-hand-grip.html
 I really like your design, and am interested in getting one.
 Do you ship to Germany?
 [have not looked at the video yet, but dont have any time to build one myself currently anyways, probably will check it out later]

systemsfail

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • My Art Website
Re: SSD Cage for Chronos 1.4/2.1-HD - 3D-printable
« Reply #27 on: January 06, 2022, 07:17:14 AM »
Yes, I can ship to Germany. Please email or PM me.

systemsfail

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • My Art Website
Re: SSD Cage for Chronos 1.4/2.1-HD - 3D-printable
« Reply #28 on: January 06, 2022, 07:48:01 AM »
Here are some better images of the grip and it's accompanying parts:






Nikon1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 954
    • View Profile
Re: SSD Cage for Chronos 1.4/2.1-HD - 3D-printable
« Reply #29 on: January 11, 2022, 04:55:22 PM »
Tried to have a look at the 3D-File linked in the Video, but both, the Grip itself and the Inserts just lead to an Error-Page. Also the Link for the Rosette and the Standoff seem to be swapped.
 I Personally would want something Protecting that Cable Coming out at the Bottom, so if i set the Camera down or it falls over or something, the Cable wouldnt take all the Stress from that. Extending the 3D-Printed Material Down a bit on the "outside" would do. I would want that material to extend at least 1x or 1,5x the Thickness of the Cable beyond the Point where its Fixed (aka, the Point it would bend from, so the Cable would have at least a bending Radius of something like R=2xD or R=1,5xD, which would be worlds better for that Cable than a Sharp bend at Full Force.
 As Far as Mounting goes, i would use this:
 https://www.ebay.de/itm/255280846968
 (Standard Arri-Rosette with a Slot For Adjustable Mounting on 1/4" Holes)
 To mount to the Left Side of My Cage i am Building (see: https://forum.krontech.ca/index.php?topic=683.0 . Just Posted some Updated Images of the Progress there.). That Plate seems Fine and sure works fine if you dont have a Cage, but as i soon have a Cage, that is just More Streamlined. Still need to Tap these with 1/4" 20TPI, would probably end up using the Lower two of these (see Image).
 .
 Will PM you soon about further Details.