Author Topic: Chronos 2.1 FPS>5406???  (Read 1502 times)

lcombs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Chronos 2.1 FPS>5406???
« on: February 14, 2020, 05:31:27 AM »
Hi,
  We just received our 2.1 and I am not able to get to any lower resolutions than 640x480 and thus am not able to get any faster rates than 5406fps. With our 1.4 we were able to get to much lower resolutions/higher fps. I have tried adjusting all settings to see if there was any change whatsoever but I have not been able to find a solution.
Thank you in advance for your help.
Laura

Martin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos 2.1 FPS>5406???
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2020, 11:38:24 AM »
Hello,

I'm not sure if the UI is the same, but on 1.4 it's possible to manually enter values in the x by y fields.
If the dropdown list of presets doesn't go lower than 640x480, you might give the manual edit a try.

Fingers crossed!

PS: I seem to remember something about 5k being the current limit, which will soon be lifted (software update), but I can't find the info right this moment..
I might as well have imagined it...
« Last Edit: February 14, 2020, 11:46:16 AM by Martin »

skronstein

  • Krontech
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos 2.1 FPS>5406???
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2020, 12:41:16 PM »
Martin is right, it will be fixed in a software update. It's schedule to be released before the end of this month.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2020, 12:50:19 PM by skronstein »

lcombs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos 2.1 FPS>5406???
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2020, 06:54:00 AM »
Thank you both for your responses. You are right, yes, I received a response from Kronos also saying there would be an update at the end of the month. Then I asked about the promise of 100k fps. And haven't heard anything back. And since it's no longer on the kronos site anywhere, i'm wondering if this was also a false promise. 

There are still multiple articles up from last year about how the 2.1 would get up to 100k fps. Which is the main reason why I wanted to upgrade and spend the extra money. Not because of the larger sensor/better quality. I need the higher frame rates. As with the 1.4 I'm sure it is possible that software could eventually get it there but I don't like being sold something under the premise that it will already be capable of these speeds and then receive a camera that as far as fps goes, is far behind the 1.4.

http://www.hispeedcams.com/chronos-2-1-hd-shoots-1000fps-1080p-for-5k/

gyppor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos 2.1 FPS>5406???
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2020, 08:57:29 AM »
Kron Tech posted something a couple years ago about export controls limiting how high they can go with the frame rates. However from what I can find for Canada and the US only cameras capable of more than 225,000 fps are export controlled, and in the EU it appears to be over 1,000,000 fps.

The issue is that to get higher frame rates (with the 1.4 at least), a feature needs to be added to allow smaller vertical frame sizes than 96 pixels. By doing so, they may open the door to frame rates over the magic number. I suspect implementing a hard limit once that feature is added is tricky, but I could be wrong.

I could also see, and this is pure conjecture on my part, the US or Canadian government deciding that once that feature is added the camera would be "capable of being easily re-programmed" to achieve higher frame rates than 225,000. That could be a legal can of worms Kron Tech doesn't want to open as the US export market is probably vital to them.

 I hope I'm wrong as I've also been patiently waiting for higher frame rates on my 1.4!

G

Nikon1

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 453
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos 2.1 FPS>5406???
« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2020, 06:48:34 AM »
Thank you both for your responses. You are right, yes, I received a response from Kronos also saying there would be an update at the end of the month. Then I asked about the promise of 100k fps. And haven't heard anything back. And since it's no longer on the kronos site anywhere, i'm wondering if this was also a false promise. 

There are still multiple articles up from last year about how the 2.1 would get up to 100k fps. Which is the main reason why I wanted to upgrade and spend the extra money. Not because of the larger sensor/better quality. I need the higher frame rates. As with the 1.4 I'm sure it is possible that software could eventually get it there but I don't like being sold something under the premise that it will already be capable of these speeds and then receive a camera that as far as fps goes, is far behind the 1.4.

http://www.hispeedcams.com/chronos-2-1-hd-shoots-1000fps-1080p-for-5k/
I am kind of surprised about this, i never seen anything about this 100kfps thing anywhere on the official website or from Krontech Staff....?Not sure, where these online Articles take their info from, but this could aswell just be an mistake from whoever wrote the original article about this (Most of the times all the following articles about something like this will just copy any informations and not do the Research themselfes...). So, unless anyone from Krontech specifically said that, i wouldnt be too sure about this. Everything i have seen so far from the official website Says, that the New Chronos 2.1 will be able to do a bit less than 30kfps. Never hear anyone say something about 100kfps, though someone of the krontech staff once said, that framerates well above 30kfps would be theoretical possible (for 1.4 and 2.1), but the Used Video-Codec does not allow for saving frames with smaller vertical size, thats why it is not enabled yet. But nothing about that it would be added to the 2.1 or any time for an release or something....?

lcombs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos 2.1 FPS>5406???
« Reply #6 on: February 19, 2020, 11:28:26 AM »
This is the first posting in the forum of the "Introducing the Chronos 2.1 HD!" thread. It says it right there also. And also here is a datasheet FROM CHRONOS that includes it as well. Their UPDATED data sheet has CHANGED this number to 24046!


Introducing the extremely anticipated Chronos 2.1!

Featuring a new 2.1 gigapixel/second sensor capable of 1080 HD resolution at 1000FPS with a maximum frame rate of 100,000 FPS.

Now sports Nikon F and Canon EF lens compatibility.

Chronos 2.1 features an LCD display that is slightly over 3x the brightness of Chronos 1.4. At 1000 nits, Chronos 2.1 makes for significantly better viewing of the camera controls when filming outdoors.

Attached is a full datasheet of Chronos 2.1.

Teardown and demo reel: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T4iBiVZlzns (comprehensive)
Demo reel: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N0opKfWNTJI

Nikon1

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 453
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos 2.1 FPS>5406???
« Reply #7 on: February 19, 2020, 11:33:40 AM »
This is the first posting in the forum of the "Introducing the Chronos 2.1 HD!" thread. It says it right there also. And also here is a datasheet FROM CHRONOS that includes it as well. Their UPDATED data sheet has CHANGED this number to 24046!


Introducing the extremely anticipated Chronos 2.1!

Featuring a new 2.1 gigapixel/second sensor capable of 1080 HD resolution at 1000FPS with a maximum frame rate of 100,000 FPS.

Now sports Nikon F and Canon EF lens compatibility.

Chronos 2.1 features an LCD display that is slightly over 3x the brightness of Chronos 1.4. At 1000 nits, Chronos 2.1 makes for significantly better viewing of the camera controls when filming outdoors.

Attached is a full datasheet of Chronos 2.1.

Teardown and demo reel: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T4iBiVZlzns (comprehensive)
Demo reel: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N0opKfWNTJI
Ok, well then it seems to be legit...    .i dont know what happened to the 100kfps then, just hope for you that it will be added via Software-Update soon.It certainly should be possible to get such framerates from the Hardware, especially if it was announced like that. I just wasnt aware, that this was a thing, since i cant find anything about the 100kfps on the website right now. They seem to have changed this then...

skronstein

  • Krontech
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos 2.1 FPS>5406???
« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2020, 08:30:35 PM »
The 2.1 and 1.4 are still both limited by the minimum 96-pixel height.  With a future software update, we plan to remove this limit and allow saving in the higher framerates.

Nikon1

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 453
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos 2.1 FPS>5406???
« Reply #9 on: March 13, 2020, 08:16:43 PM »
So now there Seems to be a way to get higher FPS!

sensor LUX2100

Specification
Frame Rate   1,000 FPS @ 1920 x 1080
1,500 FPS @ 1280 x 720
125,000 FPS @ 1920 x 8
It can be windowed down to achieve frame rates of 300,000+ FPS.

is it possible to implement such fps in the Chronos camera?

This is available now in the unstable branch of the latest software, which can be found here:
http://forum.krontech.ca/index.php?topic=531.0
So even the 125kfps and 300kfps are working in the unstable Software?That is great news!

skronstein

  • Krontech
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos 2.1 FPS>5406???
« Reply #10 on: March 13, 2020, 08:32:59 PM »
That update gives the 1.4 a max framerate of 109kpfs at 320x32 resoultion.  I'm not sure what the max for the 2.1 will be, but it could be lower than that.