Author Topic: Chronos V0.7.0 Full Release  (Read 21580 times)

mklinger

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos V0.7.0 Full Release
« Reply #60 on: November 02, 2021, 02:58:07 PM »

Thank you Marc!

I just downloaded the LUT, will try on some old data I kept on my SSD for this... I'll let you know how it goes, perhaps I have my own old edits for the same footage to compare!!

Again, thanks so much for the help!!!

No problem!  I look forward to seeing your results and how well it works for you (and others).

Thanks!

Marc

muringuets

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos V0.7.0 Full Release
« Reply #61 on: November 04, 2021, 07:15:38 AM »

No problem!  I look forward to seeing your results and how well it works for you (and others).

Thanks!

Marc


Hello everyone, here are the results for the 1.4 LUT mklinger provided

Video 1 - Edited with the 2.1 LUT
https://youtu.be/hk574eqvOSc

Video 1 - Edited with the 1.4 LUT
https://youtu.be/qAiHIHU5jls

Video 2 - Edited with the 2.1 LUT
https://youtu.be/ushuhDhV7P0

Video 2 - Edited with the 1.4 LUT
https://youtu.be/49S8JEYKECo

Video 3 - Edited with the 2.1 LUT
https://youtu.be/wLA-mYE9scc

Video 3 - Edited with the 1.4 LUT
https://youtu.be/sX1ivF2zGCA

Other video edited with no LUT corrections, I did color correction manually, just for comparison
https://youtu.be/_Jvbliyt4As

My thoughts, first a huge thanks to Marc for the LUT and patience explaining everything.

I think it is a huge impromevent from where I was on 0.7.0 FW without LUT adjustments, or using the 2.1 LUT (strong red tint), I'm still figuring out how to properly correct everything, it's hard, sometimes I still tend to be a little heavy on some color tints (a little bit too green for now), and it is very monitor dependent (I'll have my 2 monitors color corrected as soon as possible), but I'll get there.

Really happy with my progress so far, two years and I learn tons everytime I go out to shoot something, thanks everyone for the help here!!! The LUT will definitely help, I'll stay on this FW since it's way faster on save times...

PS. sorry for the videos, mainly out of focus and just straight 1000fps played back at 30fps very slow and boring stuff lol



mklinger

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos V0.7.0 Full Release
« Reply #62 on: November 04, 2021, 08:04:04 AM »

No problem!  I look forward to seeing your results and how well it works for you (and others).

Thanks!

Marc


Hello everyone, here are the results for the 1.4 LUT mklinger provided

Video 1 - Edited with the 2.1 LUT
https://youtu.be/hk574eqvOSc

Video 1 - Edited with the 1.4 LUT
https://youtu.be/qAiHIHU5jls

Video 2 - Edited with the 2.1 LUT
https://youtu.be/ushuhDhV7P0

Video 2 - Edited with the 1.4 LUT
https://youtu.be/49S8JEYKECo

Video 3 - Edited with the 2.1 LUT
https://youtu.be/wLA-mYE9scc

Video 3 - Edited with the 1.4 LUT
https://youtu.be/sX1ivF2zGCA

Other video edited with no LUT corrections, I did color correction manually, just for comparison
https://youtu.be/_Jvbliyt4As

My thoughts, first a huge thanks to Marc for the LUT and patience explaining everything.

I think it is a huge impromevent from where I was on 0.7.0 FW without LUT adjustments, or using the 2.1 LUT (strong red tint), I'm still figuring out how to properly correct everything, it's hard, sometimes I still tend to be a little heavy on some color tints (a little bit too green for now), and it is very monitor dependent (I'll have my 2 monitors color corrected as soon as possible), but I'll get there.

Really happy with my progress so far, two years and I learn tons everytime I go out to shoot something, thanks everyone for the help here!!! The LUT will definitely help, I'll stay on this FW since it's way faster on save times...

PS. sorry for the videos, mainly out of focus and just straight 1000fps played back at 30fps very slow and boring stuff lol

Your footage is looking pretty good.  Definitely don't bother with trying to use the 2.1 LUT with your 1.4.  That will just cause you more headaches than it's worth.

Keep an eye on exposure.  Your video 1 and 2 look pretty good, but #3 looks a bit underexposed (you should be able to boost this example in post without too much problem).  Once you get the colors dialed in to exactly what you want, don't be afraid to boost the saturation a tiny bit to make the video "pop" more.

Overall, it's looking good.  Good luck with your future work and I'm glad I could help!

Marc

vintagerobf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos V0.7.0 Full Release
« Reply #63 on: November 21, 2021, 12:28:57 PM »
There appears to be an issue with the Windows SMB setup.  If I configure it on the camera there is no option for mount folder and I can never get the camera to attach.  If I use the network / web interface I can set it up successfully and it will function until the camera is powered off.  Once the camera powers back up it appears to have forgotten the web based SMB settings.

sanjay

  • Krontech
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 38
  • Krontech
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos V0.7.0 Full Release
« Reply #64 on: December 22, 2021, 06:07:30 PM »
Hi All,

Today we released update 0.7.1 with some bugfixes:

  • RTSP Live Streaming on VLC no longer times out after a few minutes
  • Network File System (NFS) Saving now works with macOS
  • Setting trigger delay settings through Trigger I/O Settings -> Trigger Delay -> OK now saves the settings as expected
  • Updates to the bootloader were made to handle touchscreen displays from new vendors (not something you'll notice after an update, but cameras built starting in 2022 will feature IPS displays)

As usual, this update is available via Util -> Storage -> Apply Software Update, or with the full sd card image here:
http://debian.krontech.ca/builds/chronos-voyager-20211222.img.xz



Kudos to Marc for all the contributions to LUTs for our community  :)


There appears to be an issue with the Windows SMB setup.  If I configure it on the camera there is no option for mount folder and I can never get the camera to attach.  If I use the network / web interface I can set it up successfully and it will function until the camera is powered off.  Once the camera powers back up it appears to have forgotten the web based SMB settings.

Please see: https://www.krontech.ca/wp-content/uploads/2021/09/Chronos-SMB-Share-Setup-Guide-1.pdf and email our support team if you still need assistance, thanks!


Please note that our office will be closed from Dec 24 to Jan 3. Happy holidays everyone!

sanjay

  • Krontech
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 38
  • Krontech
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos V0.7.0 Full Release
« Reply #65 on: January 25, 2022, 05:50:20 PM »
Hope everyone is doing well!

We've released update 0.7.2 with some more bugfixes:

  • When NFS or SMB shares are configured for saving footage to networked drives, the camera will automatically re-connect to the shared drive on reboot
  • NFS or SMB credentials configured on the Webpage will be synced with what's shown on the camera's built-in display

As usual, this update is available via Util -> Storage -> Apply Software Update, or with the full sd card image here:
http://debian.krontech.ca/builds/chronos-voyager-20220124.img.xz

clkdiv

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos V0.7.0 Full Release
« Reply #66 on: February 25, 2022, 09:24:18 AM »
Hello! I am missing the "PLAY" button on the Play page. It was left to the "CLOSE"-Button, now it is gone. Why is this?

Thanks! Martin.

Nikon1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 983
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos V0.7.0 Full Release
« Reply #67 on: February 25, 2022, 09:27:00 AM »
did you reset or reinstall your Firmware recently?
 Had the Same Problem on 0.6.0 see:
 https://forum.krontech.ca/index.php?topic=637.msg4232#msg4232

imagination_edouard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos V0.7.0 Full Release
« Reply #68 on: March 13, 2022, 07:12:57 PM »
Hope everyone is doing well!

We've released update 0.7.2 with some more bugfixes:

  • When NFS or SMB shares are configured for saving footage to networked drives, the camera will automatically re-connect to the shared drive on reboot
  • NFS or SMB credentials configured on the Webpage will be synced with what's shown on the camera's built-in display

As usual, this update is available via Util -> Storage -> Apply Software Update, or with the full sd card image here:
http://debian.krontech.ca/builds/chronos-voyager-20220124.img.xz

We are having randomly some freeze of the camera.

We have two cameras at a location that create a digital experience (simulation of wind on the face).
Both units produce randomly the same symptom:
  • Back screen frozen
  • Loss of network (therefore all api timeout/unresponsive)

Here the settings:
Code: [Select]
Camera Model: CR14-1.0
Serial Number: 01946
Color Release Version: 0.7.0
FPGA Revision: 3.25
PMIC Firmware Version: 11
Sensor Temperature: 44.5 C
System Temperature: 48.1 C
Last Shutdown Reason: 49: AutoPwrOff, Software, PMIC Ack
Windows/SMB Net. Storage: IP: 10.3.26.148 / Mount: Chronos_Footage User/Pass: ****/****

To work around those; we have put some programmable socket to turn off/turn on the camera every day, but still happens randomly.
We have usage of ~20/30 videos daily.

The mechanism of our software that handles the camera:
  • Connect to the camera via API on software start (only once a day on control station start)
  • If camera respond; inject config and proceed to black calibration
  • If camera respond but inject config API/black calibration are failing; reboot camera via API
  • On-demand, once fully configured and response properly; we launch a record
  • Record process: start record
  • Record process: stop record
  • Record process: push file to network storage
  • Record process: clean camera storage

Please advise.
Cheers,

EB

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos V0.7.0 Full Release
« Reply #69 on: December 29, 2022, 01:53:12 PM »
I'm not able to perform this update to 0.7.1 on my 1.4 colour camera. I am currently running 0.5.1.

If I try the internet upgrade, I get an apt error saying that the 10 update packages found (all with chronos in their name) cannot be authenticated and that "-y was used without --force-yes". The update fails. After the subsequent automatic reboot, I'm still on 0.5.1. Perhaps there is an error in the update script?

If I try the SD card update method, when I insert the new SD card (which was successfully loaded with the new boot image using Etcher), the camera screen just stays blank and the fan activates for about 1sec every minute or so, but there is no visible progress. Inserting the old SD card restores 0.5.1

Has anyone seem either of these issues? How can I upgrade the firmware on the camera?

EB

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos V0.7.0 Full Release
« Reply #70 on: December 29, 2022, 04:14:56 PM »
Well, turns out the SD card issue was with the card itself (a Kingston SDC10G2/16GB microHDHC class 10 UHS-I card). This Kingston card did verify properly with Etcher when writing the CD Card, so the fault must be subtle. When I tried a 32BG Samsung Pro Endurance card (also UHS-I), the 0.7.2 boot image worked.

I was running 0.5.1 off an 8GB SanDisk UHS-I card (shipped with the camera?), so I guess you need to pay attention to the quality of the card.

I still had issues with the network upgrade, though, as described above.

AIIS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos V0.7.0 Full Release
« Reply #71 on: March 21, 2023, 05:48:41 AM »
I am experiencing similar problems as user EB described. When trying to update the camera via the internet connection I get the error that the packages cannot be authenticated and that "-y was used without --force-yes". My camera is running on version 0.7.0 Firmware version 11. I would greatly appreciate any advice on this problem.

When trying the SD card update, my camera doesnt boot properly. The fan briefly runs then the camera goes into some form of idle state, where the power button is lit but nothing else happens. Every minute or so, the power status indicator flashes in red and the camera seems to reboot, again briefly turning on the fan.

nik282000

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos V0.7.0 Full Release
« Reply #72 on: November 14, 2023, 11:01:32 AM »
Nice to see the 4K12 announcement video, is there any chance that UI and software updates will be backported to the 1.4? It would be very cool to see a unified experience across all models.

B.H.V

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos V0.7.0 Full Release
« Reply #73 on: November 25, 2023, 06:40:14 PM »
Nice to see the 4K12 announcement video, is there any chance that UI and software updates will be backported to the 1.4? It would be very cool to see a unified experience across all models.

It would be cool if we can get some quality improvements to the 1.4!

sanjay

  • Krontech
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 38
  • Krontech
    • View Profile
Re: Chronos V0.7.0 Full Release
« Reply #74 on: December 01, 2023, 05:15:29 PM »
Once we begin shipping the Chronos 4K12 (Feb 2024) and Chronos Q12 (Mar 2024), the software team will continue to make updates. We're working to make the remote control app backwards-compatible with the 1.4 and 2.1-HD, and may also add some more features at that time, so please stay tuned for February regarding potential software updates and new features.

I am experiencing similar problems as user EB described. When trying to update the camera via the internet connection I get the error that the packages cannot be authenticated and that "-y was used without --force-yes". My camera is running on version 0.7.0 Firmware version 11. I would greatly appreciate any advice on this problem.

When trying the SD card update, my camera doesnt boot properly. The fan briefly runs then the camera goes into some form of idle state, where the power button is lit but nothing else happens. Every minute or so, the power status indicator flashes in red and the camera seems to reboot, again briefly turning on the fan.

You may need to update your camera manually (writing the image to the SD card) for now as we are experiencing a few issues with our package servers at the moment. We are looking into it.