Author Topic: Fastest saving method  (Read 5652 times)

Rob_Heathcote

• View Profile
Fastest saving method
« on: November 02, 2021, 02:28:32 AM »
Hi all,

I'm a researcher, and would like to start using a Chronos 2.1 (32GB) to take as many two second clips as possible within a five minute timeframe (in HD and 1000fps). For those interested, the project is on fish evasive behaviour.

I'm not yet familiar at all with the Chronos cameras, so I was hoping someone might be able to make some suggestions about the best to do this. After reading the documentation, transferring to an external eSATA SSD drive seems to be amongst the best, but would this still be quicker than transferring  to a quick computer (2020 Macbook with M1 chip) and writing data to the SSD using a high speed HDMI cable? Obviously I could just try out different methods once I get my camera, but I need to create the experimental setup first, and the manner of saving data will affect the design of this.

Any other suggestions would be massively appreciated!

Cheers,
Rob

Nikon1

• View Profile
Re: Fastest saving method
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2021, 08:18:04 AM »
Hi, not 100% sure what exactly you mean with "(in HD and 1000fps)", as some people use the Term "HD" on its own while meaning Standard HD /HD ready 1280x720p HD or 720pHD, and 1920x1080 is almost exclusively referred to as "FullHD" usually, but depending on context "HD" could also be FullHD Resolution.
 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/720p  So for now i will just assume you probably meant 1920x1080p 1000fps, as its the Highest Framerate @ Highest Resolution the Camera can Output, while still also trying to answer the Same Question if you meant 1280x720p 1000fps, as that would also have a legit advantage over actual Full HD in your specific usecase.
 The 2.1 with 32Gb Memory can hold 11,0368s worth of real time footage at 1920x1080p 1000fps and 24,8410s worth of real time Footage at 1280x720p 1000p.