Author Topic: Settings to capture air gun bullet hitting the target  (Read 13632 times)

SlowEng

• View Profile
Settings to capture air gun bullet hitting the target
« on: May 04, 2023, 11:21:51 AM »
Hi,

I'm very new to high-speed camera usage. I need to record a spherical projectile coming from an air gun (BB gun to be precise) at around 92 m/s and hitting a 3D-printed model about 1.4 m away. The camera I have at my disposal is Chronos 2.1 HD. I've already made some tests but there are 2 problems:
1. The recording is too dark, even with the shutter slider set to max. There should be enough light on the scene since I'm using a large professional lamp. Are there any settings that I should check?
2. With 1000 fps (1920x1080 resolution) the bullet is not even visible in the recording, I can only see the debris after impact. Thus, I tried with 14 825 fps (1280x96) but then the image changed to a narrow bar and only this region was recorded. How can I fix it? Also, with this frame rate, the bullet is visible when traveling through the air but it's still very fast and hard to notice. Is it even possible to capture such a velocity using this camera? What settings would you recommend for my case?

Nikon1

• View Profile
Re: Settings to capture air gun bullet hitting the target
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2023, 11:26:02 AM »
Hi, Can you provide any Further Detail on the Light Source you are using, also on what Lens you are using (Especially Lens Settings)?
 Regards Resolution, there is not much to be done about that, if you want / need more Frames Per Second to capture Faster Events, you Resolution gets lower, that is just how Highspeed-Cameras generally work.

SlowEng

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2023, 11:51:29 AM »
Hi, Can you provide any Further Detail on the Light Source you are using, also on what Lens you are using (Especially Lens Settings)?